Olympus OM-D EM-1 + V6 + Olympus FL-600R + RF60

Let me come right out and say that I am a novice photographer when it comes to all this modern digital and electronic equipment. My last serious stint was in the '60's with Nikon F, Hasselblad's and Rolli's. Oh, and Honeywell had come out with this nifty on camera strobe to replace flashbulbs! Anyway, Real life intruded, I got away from photography, and then about a year ago my inner artist wanted to come out again so I started taking courses at PhotoManhattan in NYC, was attracted to M4/3 and bought an Olympus OM-D EM-1 with an Olympus FL-600R Flash. I have learned how to use the combination in TTL and now it's time to start adding odd camera lighting. After much research I decided on the Cactus V6 and RF 60 combination with the idea of mounting the V6 on top of the Oly and the FL-600R on top of that using the TTL pass through mode and then set the RF60 as a side or back light. I followed the directions and set the first slot on the V6 screen to TTL and then sed the group / channel in TX to A-1 on the V6 and and on the RF60. My first hint that something was not right was when both the "Auto Check" and "Test/Charge" lights on the FL-600R were flashing together. When I go to the a test shot, the V6 fires the RF60 beautifully but I can not get the FL-600R to fire at all. I even tried to mount the small Oly flash on top of the V6 nd use that to optically trigger the FL-600R optically to no avail. HELP! Can anyone please give me simple step by step instructions, sort of like those yellow paperback "Guide for the Complete Idiot" books? Thanks.

Comments

• edited July 2016
    The Olympus FL-600R does not appear to be officially supported by the V6II.

EDIT: Sorry, it seems that you were enquiring about the V6, not the V6II. Thanks to C88 for pointing it out.

I'm sceptical that the FL-600R will work with the V6, but I'll let Cactus or someone else with the respective experience comment.

OLD text regarding the V6II: