Manual vs. TTL

I have a Fujifilm X-T2, V6 II, and RF60X.  I'm new to the flash world and new to Cactus.  I primarily intended to use the flash off-camera.  I purchased the V6 II and RS-60X so that I have "one throat to choke" in getting the two devices to work well together.  All devices have the latest firmware.

For now the main focus of using the flash system is for event photography.  I have a company event where I will be photographing the award ceremony (i.e, I can set up the flash on a stand and the subjects and I will be standing in predictable places) and I expect to take pictures of attendees in sort of a roving fashion.  I was asked to shoot the award recipients after they accept the award so this is what I most want to have turn out nicely.

I've been watching YouTube videos that describe the pros and cons of manual vs. TTL especially as regards off-camera usage.  It seems to me that I should learn both methods.  The V6 II describes TTL reasonably well but I don't see anything specific to manual mode other than chapter 13.

I see that if you press the Menu button for two seconds that you can toggle between TTL mode and whatever the opposite is.  I don't see that the opposite of TTL has a name.  Is that for manual flash use?

In chapter 13 it discusses remote manual power control and zoom control.  But when I read the chapter the first point is "Connect the flash units to the V6 II."  Since I want to use the flash off camera, this doesn't seem like the right place to start unless it is referring to using two V6 II units, one for TX and one for RX (in which case point #1 does make sense).

Because I am using the RF60X, of course I don't need a pair of V6 II units.  If someone can point to the place in the user guide of either device that explains how to use the Cactus system to be an off-camera manual flash I would appreciate it.  There are many references in the RF60X user guide to "manual HSS" but I don't think that's what I'm looking for.